PSA: Go Eat Cheese from 320 Market + Updates

Vampire Slayer

I interrupt your Saturday night internet browsing to tell you to go eat cheese from 320 Market Cafe. This is an unlikely endorsement considering I’m allergic to milk, but about once a month I indulge in some cheese. I am not really good at selecting cheeses. A lot of friends of mine are good at cheese selection, which is how I found this one. I may have mentioned it in a previous blog, but this bears repeating. It’s called Vampire Slayer and it’s made my Calkins Creamery. According to their cyber farm, it’s made with a stirred-curd cheddar base and then garlic, ginger, onion, and paprika are mixed in by hand. Then it’s encased in black cheesewax and aged for no less than 60 days. I bought some of this at 320 Market Cafe on Friday and, um, it’s gone now. I just finished the last of it in a grilled cheese sandwich with bacon. It was delicious.

I may not know much about cheese, but Jack does. He runs 320 Market Cafe in Media and he’s really, really into cheese. Here’s an interview I did with him when 320 Market first opened in Media. Stop in and see Jack or Brian or one of the other super helpful folks at 320 Market and ask about their cheese. They’ll help you select the best cheese for your next gathering or your next grilled cheese sandwich.

As for me, I am in the midst of a LOT of changes including moving out of my beloved apartment in Media. Fret not, I am moving to a place that has a very large kitchen and I will be doing a great deal of cooking and baking in the months to come. A friend of mine is going to teach me how to make pie. Another friend said she’d teach me how to make bread. And at some point, I’m going to fly to California and visit with my favorite Rock Star Pastry Chef Chantal Carter. Good things are on the horizon. I’ll keep you posted.

xo Nina

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Had this cheese from 320 for the first time last week; you’re right, it’s fantastic. Great recommendation!

    1. cooktivism says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

