Maple Bacon Cupcakes

Adapted from Maple Cupcakes in Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World.

The concept of the Maple Bacon Cupcake is not original. I didn’t know this until I sat down to write this blog post. A lot of people have made this cupcake, but they seem to just put bacon bits into the batter or they stick some bacon on top. I was more subtle with my approach and used rendered bacon fat as a substitute for the oil in this adapted recipe. I can’t take credit for this. The lovely Chef Chantal Carter suggested it. She’s a sweet genius. She also referred me to this website for more ways to use bacon fat in cooking.
For the frosting, I attempted to do a buttercream. I am not thrilled with the way it turned out, so I am not going to post the recipe here. I will tell you that I used crushed up Trader Joe’s Maple Cookies on top of the frosting because I thought it would be a nice touch.
Ingredients: 
1/2 cup almond milk
1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 cup of 100% Pure Maple syrup
1/3 cup rendered bacon fat (I used the fat from Trader Joe’s Applewood Smoked Bacon)
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Line a cupcake tin with baking cups. Combine milk and vinegar in a bowl. Whisk together and let it sit for a few minutes.

 

 

2. While you wait, sift together the flour and all the rest of the dry ingredients except the brown sugar.

 

3. Add the brown sugar and the rest of the wet ingredients to the milk mixture.

 

4. Place all ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix on low until all ingredients are combined.

 

5. Bake for 20-22 minutes. Allow cupcakes to cool completely before frosting them with the icing of your choice.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Muffin says:

    This sounds delicious!

    1. cooktivism says:

      I served them at a potluck tonight and I think they were a hit!

  2. stocktips111 says:

    Hi
    cooktivism
    you make me super hungry. Love your Cupcakes, they look sooooo good. Let s try out at home but unfortunately me a novice cook.
    http://www.ctfinebistro.com

    1. cooktivism says:

      These aren’t hard to make! Trust me!

Leave a Reply

