Vitamix Refreshing Mint Lemonade

This week, one of my culinary dreams came true. I recently got a full-time job and I did some serious budgeting to be able to buy myself a Vitamix. I have had many battles with my blender in the past, so this Vitamix is truly a dream come true. I have a rare morning off and it’s blazing hot out, so I decided to make some lemonade.

 
I have used my Vitamix to make quite a few green smoothies so far and I am going to be making another one later, but I decided to make fresh lemonade first. One of my favorite things about summer is the fact that Santa Cruz Organic Lemonade is .99 cents at Whole Foods. If you haven’t tried it, rest assured that it tastes like summer. This lemonade is my version of summer. I added a few fresh mint leaves to kick up the refreshing element of fresh lemonade.
Ingredients:
3 lemons, peels removed and cut in half
5 mint leaves
1/2 cup of turbinado sugar
1 cup of water
2 cups of ice
You will need a Vitamix for this lemonade. Regular blenders will not process whole lemons.
1. Fill bottom of the container with water. Add sugar.
2. Layer in lemons, mint, and ice. In this order.
3. Set machine to Variable Low and Dial 1. Turn on machine. Slowly increase to level 10. If nothing moves, use tamper to move things around.
4. If you used the tamper, replace it and then flip the switch to Variable High. Blend for 40-60 seconds on high.
5. Taste mixture. Add more water or ice if you don’t like it as tart. Add more sugar if you want it more sweet.
6. Serve chilled.
Leave a Reply

