Chickpea and Sundried Tomato Basil Salad

AND I’m a liar. No, I’m not a liar. I said I’d be here posting recipes when the mood struck me and it struck, so here I am.

Yesterday I went to this Asian Market in Media that sells flowers and produce and other things you’d find at an Asian market. Someone told me about it a while ago, but then he insulted me after that so I never went. Then my coworker told me about it again yesterday, so I decided to give it a go. Normally, I am loyal to Linvilla Orchards and Wolff’s Apple House, but both are situation in places where I’d be sitting in gridlock traffic after scoring my produce. That would have been a total buzz-kill for me, so this place was the next best thing.

My coworker is a genius! Not only did they have fresh produce, but they also had exciting things like Japanese style Udon noodles, mung bean noodles, and seaweed salad. I adore seaweed salad. The point is, I was able to get a bunch of fresh veggies and I bought some herbs as well.

Like I said before,  I don’t usually cook in the summer months because it’s too hot. I was going to do it anyway and make a sauce out of my sundried tomatoes, fresh basil, and garlic, but this morning on Pinterest I came across a recipe I thought looked yummy. I just made it and it IS yummy. I did some substituting because I didn’t have some of the things it called for, but the result was just as nommy. The original recipe is on Green Lite Bites. Good Lite Bites even gives the approximate nutritional info! Check her out!

Ingredients

1 can of Trader Joe’s Garbanzo (Chickpeas) beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 cup Sundried tomatoes, chopped
25 basil leaves, chopped
3 gloves of garlic, minced (I don’t mince, I just kind of butcher it into small pieces)
1 tbsp balsalmic vinegar
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
2 tsp EVOO
2 tsp honey
Pinch of salt

Mix all ingredients thoroughly in a bowl. Cover and chill for at least 20 minutes. Serve chilled as is or with bread. This would make a great filling for a wrap!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. trialsinfood says:

    yum, this looks good!

    1. cooktivism says:

      It *really* is!!!

Leave a Reply

