Limoncello Ristorante – West Chester, PA

I am, admittedly, a border dweller. I am from New Jersey, but my home is in Media. I recently started working in West Chester. Since I am going to be spending a lot of time here, my Fig Media editor decided it would be a great idea for us to have lunch together and have me write about it. There’s another border: I now write for Fig Media and Fig West Chester. Of course, Fig Media is my first priority. Anyway, my editor is far more familiar with the restaurants in West Chester (all I know is Avalon), so it makes sense that she and I dine together. Plus, she’s paying. Not bad a bad deal, huh?
Our first stop was Limoncello Ristorante located at 9 N. Walnut Street in West Chester. I’d driven past the place several times in my way home during my first few weeks of work and I loved the way the outside of the restaurant looks. There are sleek awnings and outside seating. The place has got curb appeal.
Parking was surprisingly easy to find considering the time of day. We had a 12 o’clock reservation and I was able to find street parking on N. Walnut Street. A word about parking: West Chester Borough does not mess around when it comes to their meters. It is abundantly clear that the borough makes a majority of their money through parking fees. I was late to get back to my meter and the ticket was $20. In Media, it’s $5. To add insult to injury, the meters only take quarters. In Media, the meters take everything but pennies. I had no idea, but now I do. Next lunch date, I’m parking at work and walking to where I need to be.
The Food: We ordered off the menu, but they offer a lunch buffet, which looked amazing. From the menu, we had the Antipasti Limoncello as a starter. We split the Shrimp and Crab Fra Diavolo (pictured below) and we also split the Bananas Foster Cheese Cake. Overall, I thought the food was good. You can read more about the dining experience in my piece for Fig West Chester.
In the interest of full disclosure, I need to tell you the meal was on the house. This has never happened to me before and I don’t anticipate it happening again. Now that is has happened, I can say it changes the experience for me. I think there is a certain obligation that comes along with writing about a free meal and it’s not an obligation I want. I am grateful for the free meal at any rate.
Pros: Ambiance is adorable and welcoming. Location is great and not in the thicket of West Chester. Outdoor seating. Affordable lunch buffet option. Warm hostesses and excellent wait staff. Excellent dessert. Kid friendly. The bread was amazing.
Cons: Lunch buffet was very crowded. $3 split entree fee.
Bottom Line: The food is good. The service was excellent. The dessert was out of this world.
Leave a Reply

