Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

My mom came over yesterday and I fed her. I love having her over because it means I finally have someone to spoil with my culinary adventures. My mom loves lemon poppy-seed muffins, so I revisited an old recipe. The original version is vegan and gluten-free. Welp, I decided to get fancy and not follow my own recipe to a tee and so it ended in disaster. (I could have used the failed muffins as hockey pucks.) The next morning, I brushed myself off and started again and the results were tremendous. I was determined to make this work because, in case you didn’t know, poppy seeds are kinda expensive. I was not about to be out $7 for the poppy seeds AND not have muffins for my momma.

I adapted this recipe from Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Vegan with a Vengeance. It’s not vegan because I used cow’s milk yogurt, but it’s easily made vegan by subbing with soy yogurt.

Ingredients
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 turbinado (raw cane) sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup canola oil
3/4 cup Trader Joe’s vanilla almond milk
1 (6oz container) Trader Joe’s low-fat vanilla yogurt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons grated lemon zest
1 1/2 tablespoons poppy seeds

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
2. In a medium bowl, combine the wet ingredients and whisk together until smooth.
3. Add the lemon zest to the wet ingredients and whisk them in.
4. In a large mixing bowl, sift the flour and the dry ingredients.
5. Dump the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, add the poppy seeds, and mix on low (2 if you’re using a fancy pants stand mixer) until it looks like muffin batter.
6. Grease a muffin tin or don’t do anything to a silicone bake wear muffin tray and fill the cups 3/4 of the way full.
7. Bake for 20-22 minutes until a knife inserted in them comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

