February 15th Muffins

Yesterday was Valentine’s Day and social media was abuzz with declarations of hatred for the holiday.  Facebook was littered with “I-hate-Valentine’s Day”s and “my-husband/boyfriend-didn’t-buy-me”s and “I-hate-being-single-today”s. It never fails to amaze me how people can allow one day to make them miserable because they aren’t in a relationship. It amazes me because I was once this person.

Oh, yes, I allowed Valentine’s Day to make me miserable. I used up a lot of energy wondering how it was possible that I was still single. It was miserable when year after year I didn’t have a date or a Valentine or flowers delivered to my home or place of employment. I don’t even like getting flowers, and still, I was miserable.

I am happy to report that this is the first year that I was truly indifferent to the day. Oblivious even. I wore a red top that said “Love Peace” yesterday to work on Monday and my boss told me I should have worn it the next day. I wore the shirt because I desperately need to do laundry and finding that shirt in my drawer was my small triumph of the day. Today I wore black (again with the laundry) but I did wear my favorite gold eyeshadow.

I suppose it’s easy to succumb to the Sadness of Being Single in a place like Media. There are couples everywhere, but not just last night. Friday is Date Night in Media. Couples are here all evening dining and generally being happy and in love. It’s a beautiful sight. Am I mad about it? No. That’s absurd.

I made these muffins for myself last night because I wanted something sweet and because I love doing nice things for myself. I made it to February 15th. I’m single and I didn’t die because of my single status. If you’re reading this, you made it, too. I am loved beyond my ability to comprehend and so are you, so let’s have a muffin to celebrate.

Ingredients


1 10oz package of Earth University Banana Chunks (thawed and mashed in the bag) + 1 medium mashed ripe banana
OR 1 1/2 cups of mashed ripe bananas
1/4 cup oil
1/4 cup vanilla almond milk
1 cup packed light brown sugar
2 cups flour, sifted
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup Trader Joe’s chocolate chips
dash each of nutmeg and cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Thaw the fair trade bananas ahead of time and mash them before you cut open the bag. Pour banana mix into a bowl. Add fresh banana and use a potato masher to mash them together. Add the oil and the almond milk and mix well.

3. In a larger bowl, sift the flour and add the rest of the dry ingredients. Mix well.

5. In a mixer, add the wet ingredients to the dry ones. Mix well, but not too well. Glutinous flour gets too dense if overmixed.

6. Last, fold in the chocolate chips by hand.

7. Scoop the mixture into lightly greased muffin tin. (I used silicone bake ware, which is supposedly non-stick. It’s not.) Full them 3/4 of the way up.

8. Bake for 20 minutes in your preheated oven. They are done with a knife inserted comes out with just chocolate and no batter. Note: I have noticed that my silicone bake ware takes longer to bake things all the way through. If you are using a metal muffin tin, it may not take as long. Keep an eye on them. Also, as a general rule, when you can smell them, they’re done.

I used cookie frosting for color. Totally optional.
Leave a Reply

