Vegan Coconut Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

I have been sick these last few days. I randomly woke up with sinus issues and I think it’s because I ate a lot a of dairy leading up to the day it hit me. JCB and her husband call this the Dairy Threshold. I found it and ran way, way past it.

Anyway, Tuesdays are my days off and so I decided to stay home and rest today. I made myself food. I drank tea. I watched the latest episode of RuPaul’s Drag Race and then I decided I wanted cookies. Getting dressed and leaving the house to get said cookies was out of the question so I decided to make some.

I revisted a recipe I posted back in March 2010 for Turbinado Oatmeal Raisin Cookies. I subbed some ingredients and added unsweetened coconut and I came up with these. They’re fun and I can totally justify eating them for breakfast. I hope they make it that long.

Ingredients:
3/4 cup of coconut milk
2 tablespoons flaxseed + 6 tablespoons of warm water
2/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup canola oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups oatmeal
1/2 cup raisins
3 tablespoons unsweetened coconut

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix all wet ingredients in a large bowl. Be sure to mix all ingredients well.

2. In another mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Be sure to sift the flour.

3. Next, add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well. Fold in the raisins last.

4. Use a tablespoon and drop cookies on your cookie sheet. You can mash them down a bit, but they won’t do much spreading. Bake for 10 soft cookies. Bake for 12 minutes for crisper cookies.

Leave a Reply

