Quick Garlic Knots

Last night, I decided I wanted to make garlic knots. I often do that before bed; I decide what I want to make and then I spend my last waking moments searching for recipes online. I go to sleep before I get too involved with figuring out how to sub out ingredients to achieve the desired result. I found a recipe online that was exactly what I was looking for, but I was three steps ahead of them. I already had the dough. A friend of mine threw a pizza making party last week and he let me take home the extra balls of dough. I was fully planning on making pizza, but I figured garlic knots would be easier since we all had a hard time rolling out the dough during the party. The blog post I found helped with that, but it didn’t help the fact that I either don’t have the ingredients for or can’t eat the “garlic” part of the garlic knots.

Garlic knots call for a combination of butter, olive oil, garlic, and parsley. I used all my parsley making dumplings the other night and when I went to the store the other day, there was not a single bulb of acceptable garlic in the bin. (I’m a produce snob.) Also, I never have butter in my house. Since the temperature is not forecasted to go above 30 degrees today, I decided against walking to Trader Joe’s. (Plus, their garlic is hit or miss, too.) I had all but given up on the garlic knots until I remembered I had spices! I used EVOO, chervil (sub for parsley. You love how I have chervil, but not dried parsley, right?), garlic powder, and sea salt for the garlic bath. I didn’t measure it when I did it, so what’s on here is an approximation.

Long story short, too late I know, this is a quick, fun, and easy recipe for garlic knots. I enjoyed them with a bowl of Roasted Butternut Squash Soup. (Recipe forthcoming) Enjoy.

You’ll need:
Pizza dough (See step one)
A wooden cutting board
Sharp knife or a pizza cutter
Cookie sheet
Slip Pat or Parchment paper
Oil
Flour
EVOO
Garlic powder
Sea Salt
Dried Parsley
Microwave safe bowl

1. Call around to your local pizza shops and ask if they will sell you pizza dough. Go get the dough. (The local pizza place sold four of their jumbo balls to us for $12.50. This is one half of one of the jumbo balls. You do the math. No, really. You could get store-bought dough, but they are LOADED with unpleasant stuff. Pizza shop dough is flour, water, salt, and yeast. That’s it.)

2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wet a paper towel and place it underneath your wooden cutting board to prevent it from sliding around while you work with your dough. Oil the cutting board and your hands. Drop dough onto cutting board to flatten it a bit and to show it who’s boss. Then start edging the dough out to the edges of your cutting board. In no time, it will look like this:

3. Cut the dough in strips and then sprinkle with flour. Pick up each strip and roll it between your palms to create a rope just like you would if you were making a pretend snake with PlayDoh. Then tie it in a loose knot and place on your lined cookie sheet. Repeat. When you get to the longer strips in the middle of the circle, you may want to cut them in half and make that row into two knots. It’s up to you. When you’re finished, your cookie sheet should look like this:

4. Bake for 12-15 minutes in 400 degree oven. Whilst the knots are baking, make the garlic bath. In a microwave safe bowl, place 1/4 cup of EVOO in the bottom and then layer in the rest of the spices. I’d say to use about 1 tablespoon of each ingredient EXCEPT the salt. You only need a pinch to a dash of that. (If it’s in a shake container, a dash is a single shake. A pinch is a half a shake. This makes sense in my head.) Microwave for 40 seconds and stir with a fork to get the yummy garlicy stuff off the bottom of the bowl.

5. When they’re done baking, use a pastry brush to bathe the knots in the garlic bath.

0
After baking, before garlic bath

That’s it. I’m not sure of the yield, but I was able to make two batches of these with the half ball of dough. Rough estimate: yields 24 garlic knots.

 

Leave a Reply

