Funky Monkey Pancakes

In the last few days, I have been inundated with the thought and the idea of pancakes. After hearing someone talk about pancakes this morning, I decided to get up and make some for myself. I have been using this online calorie tracker thing lately and according to yesterday’s food diary, I did not eat nearly enough. I normally don’t do the calorie counting thing, but I am training for this year’s Tough Mudder by doing The Couch to 5K Running Plan and I want a way to track my progress. I’m into tracking things and writing things down. I’m a Virgo. This makes sense.

Anyway, I was way under in protein consumption yesterday, so I decided to add a lot of protein to breakfast this morning. I don’t have regular syrup because I’m allergic to corn, but I do have NF peanut butter and agave nectar. To serve, I layered the peanut butter in between the pancakes and drizzled the top with a bit of agave nectar. They were delicious! Enjoy.
Ingredients
1 cup flour
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon turbinado (raw cane) sugar
1 tablespoon quick cooking oats
1/4 teaspoon salt
dash of cinnamon
2/3 cup of non-dairy milk (I used rice, but soy would work, too)
1 tablespoon canola oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Chunky peanut butter for serving
1. In a large bowl, sift flour and add all dry ingredients to sifted flour.
2. In a smaller bowl, whisk together all wet ingredients.
3. Mix all ingredients together on low in a mixer or use some elbow grease to combine ingredients in the large bowl.
4. Scoop out 1/4 cup sized amount of batter for 2″ pancakes. Brown on both sides for about 2 minutes.
5. To serve, layer peanut butter in between banana pancakes and on top. Then add a drizzle of agave nectar. (Optional)
Leave a Reply

