Hurricane Morning Muffins

Hurricane Irene is set to touchdown in the Philadelphia region tomorrow at 5am. Though the storm has weakened, it’s still going to cause some damage. I am a weather nerd and though I acknowledge this storm is displacing folks and has a lot of people sitting in the dark, to me, it’s still very exciting to watch it form and track it.  I am a HUGE fan of NOAA.

Irene has folks in my area in a panic. There is no food left at any of the grocery stores. The bottled water is gone. I didn’t do a whole lot of planning for this storm because, well, there isn’t much for me to do as an apartment dweller. I got cash. I should have put gas in my car, but I just painted my nails and I can’t be bothered with pumping my own gas right now. (Jersey girl for life, y’all).

In order to prepare for this storm, I decided to bake some muffins. I had to get creative with some of the ingredients because going to the grocery store is not an option. I used Apple Banana Crushers Fruit Sauce from Trader Joe’s, which is basically baby food. (What? It’s good. It’s my on-the-go food when I don’t feel like smelling banana peels.) If you don’t have any of it, feel free to sub it for 1/2 mashed ripe banana or 1/2 cup of applesauce.

Ingredients

1 cup of rice milk
1 cup rolled oats
1 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 90g pouches of TJ’s Apple Banana fruit sauce
1/4 cup canola oil
1/2 cup sugar
2 dashes nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine the rice milk and the oats. Set aside.
2. In a larger mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Next, add the wet ingredients including the oatmeal mixture.
3. Mix on low-speed until all ingredients are well acquainted.
4. Fill lightly greased muffin tins or silicone bake wear almost to the top with the mixture.
5. Bake for 22-25 minutes or until a knife inserted in the muffins comes out clean.
6. Remain calm in the event of hurricane. Eat muffins and read a book. You’ll be fine.
Gotta love my creative cooling rack
One Comment Add yours

  1. Awesome!!!

    I dig your cooling rack… a lot. 😉

Leave a Reply

