FKF – Peach Melba Sorbet

First, I need to say that this recipe is a mash up of several I have encountered. The biggest contributor and inspiration for this recipe is the lovely Nigella Lawson. I saw her make Peach Melba on one of her ridiculously sexy episodes of Nigella Feasts. The second person to inspire this recipe was Alton Brown’s Good Eats. I saw an episode of his about alcohol and food and he said that some restaurants will add alcohol to sorbet to keep it from freezing. I thought back to my college days and remembered the Jägermeister was always stored in the freezer. I didn’t add Jager to this recipe, but I did add 99 Bananas. What? That’s all I had! I don’t drink and if I did drink, it wouldn’t be Vodka because I am allergic to potatoes. Don’t get me started.

I modified Nigella’s recipe a lot.  She unabashedly poaches her peaches in a very sweet simple sugar. I chose not to use the 3 1/2 cups of granulated sugar that her recipe calls for and used 3/4 of turbinado sugar instead. I did this because raw sugar is expensive and I’d prefer to have it in my tea rather than in my sorbet. I also used a cinnamon stick instead of a vanilla pod because those chompies are expensive, too. Don’t get me wrong, this is not a cheap Fat Kid Friday treat. I sacrificed to bring this recipe to you. See how I suffer for this blog? You all are totally worth it.

Note:  Peaches are not in season. I have read several reviews of this recipe, and when in season, the skins of the peaches come off easier when poached. I was not so lucky. That’s what I get for buying peaches in PA in the middle of March. (Again with the suffering.)

Ingredients
3 cups of water
3/4 cup turnbinado (raw) sugar
1 cinnamon stick
2 tablespoons lemon juice
6 peaches
Later – 2 tablespoons of 99 Bananas or Vodka
(Anything with a high ABV percentage will work)

For the raspberry sauce:
1 bag of Trader Joe’s frozen raspberries (thawed overnight in the fridge)
2 teaspoons of So Delicious Coconut Yogurt**
2 teaspoons of agave nectar**
1 tablespoon of lemon juice
** Sub these two for a 1/4 cup of confectioners’ sugar

1. Follow Nigella’s steps to poaching peaches. I could type out her instructions, but that would be plagiarism. What I can offer you here are some pictures.

Simple Syrup
Poaching Peaches

2. In paragraph three, she tells you to bag up the poaching syrup and save it. For this recipe, you’re going to use it. After you remove the skins from the poached peaches, stick the naked peaches and the liquid (without the cinnamon stick) into a blender. You want to make sure you’ve let the liquid cool or else your blender might explode. You’ve been warned.

3. Place the blended simple syrup and peach mixture in an air tight container and chill. Overnight will work.

4. When the mixture has cooled, whisk in the two tablespoons of alcohol. Immediately pour mixture into your ice cream maker and churn according to the instructions. Remove from ice cream maker and let it set in the freezer for at least 2 hours before serving. Because you added the alcohol, it won’t freeze all the way, but allowing it to set will give it the consistency of sorbet and not Slurpee.

5. To make the raspberry sauce, place all ingredients in a food processor to combine. Strain out the seeds with a mesh sieve.

6. To serve, place a scoop of sorbet onto the plate and drizzle it with the raspberry sauce. Enjoy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Nina! Thank you for sharing this delicious post with our Facebook fans. Your Peach Melba Sorbet looks so delicious, we can’t wait to try the recipe! Your photos are gorgeous, too, and we’ve included one (along with a link to your blog) in our FB photo gallery!

    1. cooktivism says:

      Wow! What an honor! Thanks, Gail!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

