Chicken Cacciatore

In a post yesterday, I mentioned how bad I felt for the contestants of Worst Cooks in America. The show is a train wreck, except for Priscilla the mean retired teacher who couldn’t handle being the student to learn how to do something that’s basic to survival, I felt bad for them. On the second episode, they showed the contestants how to break down a chicken and then they showed them how to make Chicken Cacciatore. I can’t break down a chicken, but then again, I’ve never tried, but I can make Chicken Cacciatore.

I was watching The Cooking Channel and Food Network all day before the marathon started and someone else was making this delicious dish. I decided that meant I needed to make it. This is my version of the dish. According to Giada and Kelsey, you need either red or white wine to make a reduction to make a proper Chicken Cacciatore. I didn’t have either, so I just used the beautiful veggie broth I made and froze a few weeks ago. I love how it turned out. I served it over Tinkyada GF Brown Rice Spinach Pasta, which was lovely, by the way.

Ingredients

4 chicken thighs
Salt and pepper for seasoning chicken
1/4 cup of Matzo Meal
1/4 cup of BRM White “Sweet” Sorghum
1 medium onion, chopped
2 small shallots, diced
3 cloves of garlic, chopped
3 tablespoons of EVOO
3/4 cup of vegetable of chicken stock
1 28 oz can of diced tomatoes
1.5 teaspoons of dried oregano
1 teaspoon of dried basil

1. Lightly salt and pepper your chicken on both sides.

2. Put your flour in a shallow container dredge (or coat) the chicken on both sides with the flour. Shake off any excess.

3. In a heavy bottomed deep sauce pot, heat the oil over medium high heat. When it is hot (and only when it’s hot) add the chicken pieces and brown for 5 minutes on each side.

4. Remove from pan and set side. Add onions and garlic to the hot pan with the oil and residual flour and cook for 3 minutes until the onions are soft.

5. Add the vegetable stock and cook for another 5 minutes. (If you choose to use the red or white wine, this is when you add it. You are going to reduce the sauce by about half before proceeding to the next step.)

6. Add the can of tomatoes and the spices. (If you used the wine and reduced the sauce, add 3/4 cup of chicken or veggie broth along with the tomatoes.)

7. Bring to a simmer and cook the chicken the rest of the way. It should take about 25-30 minutes.

8. Serve over pasta or rice. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

