Cinnamon Sugar Oatmeal with Bananas

Yes, I am posting about oatmeal today. I know this is a staple in a lot of homes, but I can honestly say I had never had oatmeal until this year. My mother didn’t feed her children oatmeal. She didn’t like it. Something about the texture. She didn’t feed us anything she didn’t like. Similar to the oatmeal, I was never fed peanut butter and jelly sandwiches as a kid. I had my first one in college. I’m not a fan.

My mother still does not like oatmeal. When I made it at her house, I tried to get her to eat some and she respectfully declined. This coming from a woman who will eat anything I cook for her except tempeh. Nobody likes tempeh. If they say they do, they’re lying.

Now that I am an adult with the ability to cook** and try new things, I decided to try my hand at making oatmeal. I sent out a tweet and asked my favorite vegan how to do this and he schooled me. I have since added some pizzazz to the dish and now it’s lovely. I just had a bowl and I nearly wept at the beauty of it all. Who knew oatmeal could be so yummy?

Ingredients

1.5 cups of water or rice milk (I prefer rice milk, but water is just fine)
1 cup of BRM GF Rolled Oat or the bulk oats you find at Whole Foods or your local co-op in the bins
1/8th teaspoon of salt
1/2 teaspoon of turbinado sugar
1 whole cinnamon stick
1 banana (optional)
1. In a small sauce pot, bring the 1.5 cups of water to a boil.
2. Add the sugar, salt, and cinnamon stick to the sauce pot before it boils. This will serve to flavor the water or rice milk.
3. Slice a banana into the bottom of the bowl in which you’ll be using to serve your oatmeal. (This is optional, but yummy.)
4. When the sugar and salt have dissolved and the water is boiling, add the cup of oats and reduce heat to medium high.
5. Important: Do not walk away from the pot once you’ve added the oats. You are going to need to stir them constantly to make sure they don’t stuck to the pan as they are absorbing the water. Over medium high heat, your oatmeal should take 8-10 minutes to absorb most if not all of the water. If you like your oatmeal a bit more soupy, take it off when it reaches that stage.
6. Pour over the waiting bananas and enjoy.

 

 

**I watched a marathon of Worst Cooks in America this weekend and it made me so sad. I had no idea so many people couldn’t cook and that cooking brought panic and anxiety to those who genuinely can not cook. I am sorry. I am just sorry.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nicole says:

    This looks yummy, if I liked oatmeal or bananas , I would try it:)

Leave a Reply

