Chicken Wings with Emeril’s Rustic Rub

I don’t celebrate the Super Bowl, but I admire folks that do. I think it’s a great that people get together and drink and eat and watch TV. No, really, I do. I fully support that kind of dedication. People have Super Bowl parties even when their teams aren’t playing. I honestly have no idea who is even playing in the Super Bowl. I had to take a Twitter poll to see if the game was this Sunday. I know it’s usually in January and today is February 2nd. I was confused. Here’s what I do know: the Philadelphia Eagles are not in the Super Bowl. I know this because if they were, there would be a barrage of drunken idiots on the street in front of my apartment every night leading up to the game. It’s been really quiet around here lately.

I went to Whole Foods today for some retail therapy and I bought some wings. The beauty about Super Bowl time is that finger foods like these are rather inexpensive. I’m a shameless opportunist who has not had very many protein sources in my fridge for a while and so I ceased on the opportunity.

This is a very simple recipe for wings. I used some GF flour and some of Emeril’s Rustic Rub on the wings. The rub is great for chicken. My mom usually makes a huge batch of it when she makes gumbo. She rubs it on the chicken before she adds it to the pot of awesomeness. Maybe she’ll teach me how to make gumbo one of these days. It seems intricate. She had to send away to New Orleans for some special seasoning that’s not available in northern states before she agreed to make it. Anyway, enjoy the wings. This simple recipe can be used to make wings for your Super Bowl party this Sunday.

Ingredients

Pack of Chicken Wings
1 cup of BRM GF Brown Rice Flour
2 tablespoons of Emeril’s Rustic Rub
1/2 tablespoon of Sea Salt
1 tablespoon Canola Oil

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Rinse chicken and pat dry.

2. Place chicken in a large bowl. Add the flour, rub, and salt. Toss to coat or use kitchen tongs.

3. Drizzle the bottom of an aluminum foil lined 9×13 pan with canola oil. Don’t sub for olive oil here. Olive oil will only burn and cause your wings to stick to the pan. Arrange wings side by side.

4. Bake for 35-40 minutes in the preheated oven. About half way through, turn the wings so they get crispy on both sides.

5. Serve as is or with your choice of dipping sauce.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nicole says:

    These wings are very , very good!

Leave a Reply

