FKF: Eggplant Fries and Chicken Nuggets

Ah, the first fat kid Friday of 2011. This one was a lot of fun. I can’t eat potatoes and I adore french fries. I bought the last eggplant in at Linvilla the other day and I wanted to make some magic with it. I magially turned my beautiful healthy eggplant into something deep-fried and delicious. I have a a love affair with vegetables, but sometimes they are better deep fried.

I used gluten-free flours to coat the nuggets and the fries. I am going back to gluten-free flours and items because though they are 3x more expensive than conventional flours, I seem to digest them better.

Ingredients:

1 large eggplant
1/2 cup BRM brown rice flour
1/2 cup BRM sweet white sorghum flour
1 tablespoon salt
1/2 teaspoon each of dried oregano, basil, garlic powder, pepper
2 cups of cooked chicken pieces, cooked into nugget sized pieces
Oil for frying

1. Combine the flour and the spices in a large bowl. Mix thoroughly with a fork.


2. Place about a 1.5″ of oil on the stove in a heave bottomed, deep stock pot.  Turn the oven to medium high heat. It will take a few minutes for the oil to get hot enough to fry.

3. While waiting for the oil to heat, cut the eggplant. I had a long eggplant so I cut the ends off and then cut it in half. I removed the skins by placing the eggplant up right on the cutting board and skinning it like you would a cucumber. Next, cut the eggplant half and then split in half again if your eggplant is girthy. Then slice the eggplant into strips.

4. Place slices in the flour bowl and toss to coat. When the eggplant pieces are done, coat the chicken pieces and set aside.

5. Test your oil to see if it’s ready by sticking one end of your eggplant fries in the oil. If it bubbles around it, then the oil is ready to rock and roll.

6. Drop your eggplant fries in the pot in small batches. Don’t overcrowd the pot. Fry them for about 5 minutes per batch. Remove them and place on a plate lined with paper towels. Salt them with sea salt.

7. Continue to fry your eggplant until you’re finished. Then do the same with your coated chicken pieces. The chicken pieces only need to be be in the oil for about 3 minutes because they are already cooked. You’re just trying to give them a crispy coating.

8. Serve with your choice of dipping sauce. Enjoy!

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nicole says:

    I really like eggplant, so this was a treat!
    I was surprised at how crispy the eggplant got after frying.

Leave a Reply

