Warm Apple Cranberry Breakfast Smoothie

I am stuck on juicing cranberries. I scored a pint of beautiful cranberries from Wollf’s Apple House the other day. They were grown in Hammonton, NJ. Did you know “ninety-five percent of NJ’s cranberries are sold to Ocean Spray Cranberries, Inc., a grower-owned cooperative with a receiving station in Chatsworth and a processing plant located in Bordentown which together employ close to 300 people?”* I’m from South Jersey and I’ve seen cranberry bogs. It’s very cool to drive by and see fields of flooded cranberry bushes with the cranberries bobbing on the top. There is also an annual Cranberry Bog festival thing in South Jersey. You get the point. I really like cranberries.

Besides the cranberries, I used a couple large Gala apples that I steamed slightly to take the chill off of my breakfast. I also added a great deal of fresh ginger, which also served to warm up my belly. I used a LOT of it and you might want to adjust this for your recipe because raw ginger is not for the faint of heart. I also added some yogurt to this. I use coconut yogurt, bur feel free to use whatever kind you like the most.

Ingredients:

1 pint of fresh cranberries
(2) 2″ pieces of ginger, peeled
4 navel oranges, peeled
2 large Gala apples, peeled and steamed
1/4 cup of So Delicious Coconut vanilla yogurt
1 packet of mango puree (optional)

1. To prepare the cranberries, soak for 15 minutes in a deep container with a lid. Shake the container to release any sediment and dirt. Drain off water and set aside.

2. Start juicing. Start with the oranges and alternate. Add cranberries by the handful and be sure to keep the pusher close to the opening because the cranberries will try to escape and the juicer will start to expel bits of pulverized cranberries all over the place. It takes practice to find the most effective technique.

3. Empty juice onto a blender. Add the mango puree and yogurt.

4. Blend and serve immediately.

*Source: American Cranberry Growers Association

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Karyn says:

    Cranberries, ginger, oranges, apples, and mangoes!?!?—this sounds so delicious! I make smoothies with So Delicious coconut milk, but I’ve never tried making them with the yogurt. Can’t wait to try it!

  2. cooktivism says:

    It was delicious! Thanks for dropping by!!

Leave a Reply

