Classic Pesto with Flax Seed

I scored a great deal of fresh basil today for less than a dollar. This is one of the many reasons I love shopping at local establishments. What else can you do with a lot of basil but make pesto? I decided to make some for tonight’s dinner and I froze some for later.

I used flax seed in place of the usual walnuts or pine nuts pesto usually calls for. Nuts and I are not on the best of terms these days, but I know they are needed for the consistency. I would have to say the flax seed was a nice alternative. It gave the pesto a great consistency without being grainy. I enjoyed it tonight over some Tinkyada gluten-free brown rice pasta. Feel free to use whatever nuts or pasta you’d like.

Note: For a smaller batch, cut the basil down to 3 cups and the garlic count down to 3 as well. You will also need less oil if you are using less basil. 1/2 cup should do it.

Ingredients

6 cups packed basil leaves
4 fat cloves of garlic, smashed and roughly chopped
1/4 ground flax seed
1 1/2 teaspoons coarse sea salt
1 cup of EVOO
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1. Combine all ingredients into a blender or food processor.

2. Pulse until mixture forms a paste.

3. Add more EVOO if the mixture needs it.

4. Serve over pasta or for whatever use you’d like

Leave a Reply

