Mushroom Masala

I made a variation of this dish this weekend while I was at home. I didn’t have my spice cabinet with me at the time, so I decided to recreate it. Masala literally means “mixture” in Hindi. The mixture is usually a combination of a paste and dried spices. I used the warmed spices I had in my cabinet to make this masala. It’s a cold night in Pennsylvania and this warmed me right up.

I used white mushrooms and shiitake mushrooms for this dish. You can certainly use any mushrooms you’d like. The earthiness of the shiitake mushrooms complimented the white mushroom nicely, I think.

Ingredients:

1 medium white mushroom, minced
2 shallots, minced
3 cloves of garlic, minced
2 tomatoes, minced
2 tablespoons of EVOO
1/2 lb of Shiitake mushrooms, sliced
1 lbs of sliced white mushrooms
1 teaspoon garam masala
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon thyme
1 cup snow peas
Salt to taste

1. Mince garlic and onions in a food processor. Heat 2 tablespoons of EVOO is a large sauce pan. When the oil is hot, add the onions. Sautee for about 5 minutes.
2. Mince tomatoes in the food processor while the onions are cooking. (No need to clean it in between runs.) Add tomatoes to the browning onions. Cook for about 5 minutes.
3. Add mushrooms and spices. Mix thoroughly to combine. Allow tomatoes, mushrooms, and spices to cook undisturbed for another 5 minutes.
4. Last, add the snow peas and stir them to combine. Allow them to cook, but not wilt. They should still be bright green when you serve them.
5. Add salt (and pepper) to taste.
6. Serve over your choice of rice. I used brown rice.

Leave a Reply

