FKF: Ginger Snap Ice Cream Sandwiches

I have not abandoned you! My semester JUST ended and I am officially back with a recipe that is sure to please your loved ones. I made this lovely dessert exactly one month ago, but now is the perfect time to debut them to the world. Though I did use vegan ginger snaps, the coffee ice cream is not at all vegan.  You can sub it out with soy ice cream or any other frozen treat of your choice. Enjoy.

Prepare the vegan ginger snaps. Be sure to smash the formed balls down a little bit when you place them on the baking sheet so that they form flat cookies.

For the Coffee Ice Cream: I chose to make Philadelphia style ice cream as opposed to the French custard style ice cream. One of the main reasons I decided to do this was because custard calls for eggs and I can’t eat them. Not doing so also drastically cut down on prep time.

1 cup milk
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3 tbsp coffee*
2 cups heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix all ingredients in a blender. Make sure the sugar dissolves.

*I didn’t have any instant coffee nor was I really certain about what it was so I used three teaspoons (the equivalent of three pods) of Senseo Vienna Waltz Hazelnut coffee. I was thinking it was instant coffee because the coffee is brewed instantly. This makes sense. Anyway, the ice cream mixture did have grounds in it, but it also had a WONDERFULLY strong and robust hazelnut flavor.

When sugar is dissolved, add the heavy cream and vanilla and blend.

Refrigerate this mixture until it’s nice and chilled, about 4 hours. Process in your ice cream maker for 25-30 minutes or per the instructions on your particular model.

To assemble you’ll need:

Wax or parchment paper
Sandwich bags
 

I like symmetry, so this is how laying them out made the most sense to me.  You can do it how you feel would be best for you, but this way worked pretty well.

When the ice cream finishing churning, I recommend transferring it to an airtight container and freezing it for about 30-45 minutes.  When I made mine, I didn’t and it was a hot mess. Freezing the ice cream first will allow it to firm up and not melt in your hands.  Be careful not to let it  harden all together or else you’ll be fighting with completely hardened ice cream.

To fill, go down the line and fill with a tablespoon full of ice cream. Stuff each one, wrap it in the wax paper, and stick it in a sandwich bag. Repeat until all of the sandwiches are filled. To serve immediately, omit the sandwich bags. Otherwise, allow them to freeze for another hour before you serve them. I put them in individual baggies so that I could eat one when I wanted. 

These are sure to make your taste buds dance. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

