How to Clean an Oven the Eco-Friendly Way

I was originally going to start this post by reiterating how much I hate my stove. If you’ve read my previous posts, you’ll know my stove and I have some major issues we’re working through. Then I went back and looked at the pictures I took of this place when it was empty and I changed my mind. I have been cooking, creating, and writing from my home in Media, PA for almost a year now. I am grateful for this place and I am grateful to have a stove of my own. Even if it is raggedy.

One of the biggest challenges I face with my stove is keeping it clean. The damn thing has never really looked clean, which disturbs my Virgo senses. I can’t be too upset, though. The stove is just old. It probably has 15 years on me and despite my frequent calls to the landlord and the energy company, they won’t replace it. I will just have to live with an antiquated stove that shows its age. It’s okay. I like old stuff.

My stove gets gunky really quickly. After about a week of cooking, it looks like it’s never been cleaned at all. I don’t keep harsh cleaning agents in my house, which would easily clean up the mess. Instead, I use a very old, very inexpensive, very eco-friendly concoction to clean my stove. I use a mixture of baking soda, white vinegar, and lemon juice. That’s it. You can use baking soda and vinegar to clean anything in your house. The lemon juice gives it a pleasant smell and adds to the acidity of the mixture and will help eat away at all kinds of gunky stuff.

To clean my stove, I slowly poured 2 caps full of distilled white vinegar into a shallow container where I’d placed 3 tablespoons of baking soda and the juice of two lemon slices. I mixed it together to make a paste and slathered it on my stove. I let it sit for about 5 minutes then used a scrubbing pad and some elbow grease to clean it. Below are pictures of the before and after.

Before.

My stove isn’t perfect. It refuses to simmer. It doesn’t like to maintain any consistency when it comes to the oven temperature. It’s not new. It sometimes smells like gas, but it’s mine. I accept it for its faults and I appreciate it for helping me cook food that I share with you. One day, I’ll have a huge kitchen with stainless steel appliances. For now, I have this old little stove and it’s fine by me.

 

After.
Leave a Reply

