Recipe Revisted: Rudy’s Freakin’ Vegan Bean Dip

One of the saddest things about learning which foods I needed to avoid because of my allergies is the fact that I had to give up Rudy’s Freakin’ Vegan Bean Dip. It was one of my favorite dishes. It was full of protein from the black beans, the refried beans, and the tofu. I took great pride is making it, but it didn’t make me feel good. Turns out, the soy was what was doing me in.

My allergy to soy has been, by far, the toughest to deal with. There is soy in everything. Most conventional salad dressings using soybean oil as a base. Vegetable oil sold in grocery stores is soybean oil. Soy lecticin is an emulsifier found in most chocolate. My beloved Bragg’s Amino Acids is made of fermented soy beans. It’s sad, but it’s something I am learning to deal with.

The other day, I was at home watching a recorded episode of Nigella Feasts on The Cooking Channel. In the episode called “Exotic Evening,” the enchanting Nigella Lawson made a beautiful bean dip with aromatic spices and red kidney beans. I just made it and I’m in love. I am writing this post to point you to the recipe – Red Kidney Bean Dip. It’s hearty, it’s vegan, and the lime juice gives it a wonderful little kick. I think I am going to make this bean dip for the upcoming holidays. It’s sure to be a great way to keep hungry guests at bay while the meal is finishing up.

Another reason I stopped making the bean dip was because I seemingly had nothing to eat it with. I am also allergic to corn, so my favorite corn tortillas were out. I am normally not a fan of gluten-free wraps, but on a whim I decided to try Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Brown Rice Tortillas. As I suspected, they don’t wrap well, but I realized they make excellent chips! Here’s how to make them:

 

Step One: Remove tortilla from package
Step Two: Preheat oven to 400 degrees and break up tortillas into bite sized pieces.
Step Three: Sprinkle with sea salt and toast them for about 4 minutes. Viola! Brown rice tortilla chips!

Though I will be using Nigella’s bean dip recipe from now on, I will never forget the fondness I once had for Rudy’s rendition. I hope you will make the one that best suits  your belly’s needs.

 

Leave a Reply

