Chicken Sunday: Garam Masala Oven Fried Chicken

I did some research to explain why I call Sundays Chicken Sunday. I don’t cook with a lot of meat, but I have designated Sundays to be the day I cook chicken. One of the reasons that lead to Chicken Sunday is because I have read several studies that report that American’s consumption of meat has increased dramatically since the 1950s. One such study, published in the US Department of Agriculture’s Agriculture Fact Book Chapter Two, found that “in 2000, Americans consumed an average 57 pounds more meat that they did annually in the 1950s.” What is even more fascinating is what they found about American’s consumption of cheese.  They found, “average annual consumption of cheese … increased 287 percent between 1950 and 2000, from 7.7 pounds per person to 29.8 pounds.” The study states the increased occurrence of eating-away-from-home may very well be the culprit. Whatever the reason may be, that’s a lot of cheese.

I don’t eat a lot of meat or cheese because of my food allergies. Livestock is often fed a diet of corn, which gets into the meat and causes me to feel like I am going to die. Two of American’s top chicken companies produce chicken that gives me horrible headaches. I can only seem to eat chicken from Whole Foods. I don’t live close to a Whole Foods, so my chicken consumption is low. Therefore, I have reserved Sundays for my chicken consumption.

Chicken is so versatile. I make a mean marinade, but I didn’t have anything I usually use to marinate chicken. Since I had so much flour left over from making the vegan ginger snaps, I decided to do some oven-fried chicken. I used a four pack of skinless chicken thighs because I don’t really like white meat. Feel free to use your preferred part of the chicken for this recipe.

Ingredients
4 pack of chicken thighs (for a more chicken, add 1/4 cup of flour)
¾ cup of unbleached flour
1 tablespoon garam masala
Salt and pepper
¼ cup of canola oil

I. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. While it is heating, rinse chicken and pat dry. Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper.

2. In a Ziploc bag, combine flour, garam masala, and a bit of salt and pepper. Place chicken in the bag, seal, and shake to coat the chicken.

 

Before

 

 

3. Line a 9×13 Pyrex pan with aluminum foil. Place the oil in the bottom and stick it in the oven to heat, about 5 minutes. After 5 minutes, place chicken face down on the heated oil. Bake for 30 minutes on one side. Flip and bake for an additional 20-35 minutes on the other side.

 

After

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Karla says:

    I can’t wait to try this – I love Garam Masala!

Leave a Reply

