FKF: Vegan Ginger Snaps

This post may be a little premature since it’s not even Halloween yet, but I don’t care. As you may know, I have been trying to figure out how to make baked goods Nina-Friendly. My previous attempts, though noble, have been futile.  I thought it was impossible until I remembered Ginger Snaps.

Ginger snaps are my grandmother and mother’s favorite cookie. They are spicy and not too sweet. They are perfect with coffee or tea though I am not really a fan of eating at tea time. I prefer one or the other, but due to the spiciness of this cookie, I combined it with Trader Joe’s Candy Cane Green Tea. Seriously. Life is stellar on this Fat Kid Friday.

Ingredients
1 cup of packed brown sugar
2 cups unbleached, unbromated all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
¾ cup of vegetable oil (I used canola oil because vegetable oil = soybean oil = death)
¼ cup unsulphured molasses
1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed + 3 tablespoons water, let sit (or 1 egg)
White sugar to roll batter in (optional)

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Use an oven thermometer to make sure it’s hot enough when you’re ready to bake.

2. In medium mixing bowl, combine the flax “egg”, brown sugar, and oil, and molasses. Mix well with a hand mixer or some elbow grease. I recommend the latter because of the whole oil-and-water-don’t-mix thing. Set aside.

3. In a larger bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cloves, cinnamon, and ginger. Mix with a hand mixer on low until almost all the flour is mixed in. Use a spoon to do the rest when the dough is too solid to mix further.

4. Roll the dough into 1 inch balls and place 2” apart on an ungreased baking sheet. I used my Slipat and the cookies slid right off. (Thanks, Mom!)

5. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the center is firm. Note: My oven is older and the 10-12 minutes I thought it was going to take was too long and caused the bottoms of my cookies to burn. Do a test batch first to determine how long they are going to take in your oven.

These would make a thoughtful gift for someone this holiday season. They would also make a great ‘just because’ gift for a special person in your life.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nicole says:

    I made these cookies this morning, they are delicious! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

