Mung Beans and Short Grain Brown Rice


My mom is pretty amazing. She has super cable and I don’t and she records cooking shows for us to watch together when I come visit. One of my favorite new cooking shows is Indian Food Made Easy with Anjum Anand. I love the food she makes, though she can be a bit cross with her guests. I suppose that comes with the territory when you deal with a serious foodie and food writer.

Shortly after I began watching the show, I started to stock up on the spices she regularly uses in the show. I am sure they are easy to find at Whole Foods or at a food co-op, but I shop online for bulk spices. This is the easiest and most economical way for me to shop for spices.

I decided to try this recipe from the Health Spa Indian recipe that aired last weekend. My dish is based on her dish called Creamy Lentil and Rice Dish: Khicheri. I substituted some ingredients out of necessity and, therefore, my version of the dish is vegan. I am going to be exploring more of her recipes in the upcoming weeks as well as recipes I got from the books I bought at the book sale this weekend. I’m so excited. I hope you’ll stay tuned!

Ingredients
½ cup of short grain brown rice
½ cup mung beans
1 teaspoon of EVOO
½ teaspoon of fennel seeds (or cumin seeds)
1 small onion, chopped
1” long piece of fresh ginger, chopped
Sea Salt (to taste)
¼ teaspoon of ground turmeric
2 ¼ cups of water

1. Soak the mung beans and the rice in a bowl of water for at least 30 minutes. I tossed them in a bowl and then took an epic nap, so mine soaked for 2 hours. (I nap like a champ.)

2. Use a large non-stick sauce pan and heat the EVOO before adding the fennel seeds. When it is warm, toss in the fennel seeds and fry them for about 30 seconds before adding the onions. Take care not to burn the seeds as they will taste bitter if you do. Add the onions to the fried fennel seeds and cook until they are soft.

3. Next, add the ginger, salt, and turmeric. Then, add the water, rice,  and mung beans. Bring it to a boil and then immediately reduce heat, cover and simmer for 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

