Harvest Grains Warm Ginger Salad

I made this dish last weekend when it was cold and rainy. I’m not complaining because I adore fall weather, but the heat hasn’t been turned on in my building and I was chilled to the bone. I have a lot of fresh ginger in my house and I know ginger has a warming effect on the body (and the soul) so I added a healthy amount to this salad and had it on a warm pita with hummus.

I used Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains Blend, which is a blend of Israeli-style couscous, green and red orzo, baby garbanzo beans (chickpeas), and red quinoa. The package suggests pairing it with meats to make a complete meal, but this mix IS a complete vegan meal without anything else. It’s inexpensive at $2.69 for a one-pound bag and it cooks in 10 minutes! I’m going to have the leftovers for breakfast and pop down to TJ’s for another bag or three! Enjoy.

Ingredients
2 cups of cooked Harvest Grains Blend
2 tablespoons of good tasting EVOO
1” piece of fresh ginger, peeled and minced
¼ cup of fresh mint, minced
Juice of a half of lemon
Sea Salt to taste*

1. Prepare Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains Blend according to instructions. I used some homemade vegetable stock instead of water. *If you used salt in the water to cook the grains, taste the grains first before adding any additional salt.

2. While grains are cooking, mince mint and ginger and place into a mixing bowl.

3. After ten minutes, add the cooked grains, lemon juice, sea salt, and EVOO and toss to coat.

4. Serve immediately over a bed of salad greens or as a filling in a wrap or as is!

Note: Raw ginger has a bit of bite to it and it’s not for the faint of heart. If you don’t like raw ginger, omit it from the recipe or used 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger instead.

Leave a Reply

