Life is Beautiful Open-Faced Sandwiches


I placed an order with ASOS and I have no way of tracking it. Today, I figured I’d kind of stalk the FedEx delivery person in the hopes that they would bring my package today. In the process of doing so, I stopped by Deals, Media’s local general store. I saw my landlord as he was having a chat with someone outside Sweet Potato Bakery & Café where I popped in to get a muffin. I sat in the alley to enjoy my muffin and some fresh air and watched Media go by. I remembered, in that moment, exactly how much I love this place.

I stuck my head in at Local Home + Gift, which has some of the CUTEST items, and I asked the lovely owner if she’d seen the FedEx truck. She said she hadn’t and gave me a better time frame to look for them and even offered to sign for the package for me. How many places do you know of where all of this magic happens in an hour? In a day? In a month?

Media is magical and life is beautiful. It inspired me to make this sandwich. I made it with love and adoration in celebration of my residence in this happy place.

Ingredients
2 tablespoons of EVOO
2 teaspoons of Balsamic vinaigrette
1 tablespoon of sesame seeds
1 sprig of fresh mint, sprig removed, and finely chopped
1 cup (about a handful) of fresh sprouts, finely chopped
½ cup of sliced Baby Bella mushrooms, finely chopped
Salt to taste

Combine all ingredients into a small mixing bowl. Cover and marinate for 10 minutes.

Use as a filler for your open-faced sandwich. I used gluten free, wheat free brown rice tortillas from Trader Joe’s and their organic garlic hummus as a spread. It was delicious! I can’t wait to make it again!

Leave a Reply

