Whole Grain Banana Pancakes

I made these on Sunday because I felt I deserved a treat. The night before, I had a pity party and it was not the least bit productive. Luckily, I got over myself and arose to make these beauties for myself.  I added a bit of chocolate to them because I was feeling decadent and in need of a serotonin boost. It was successful.

This recipe is adapted from the Banana-Pecan Pancakes recipe in Vegan with a Vengeance.

Note: I am not the world’s best pancake flipper so I opt to make small pancakes that are easily flipped with a good metal spatula. That’s why they are so small.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups of whole-wheat flour
1 ½ teaspoons of baking powder
½ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon of salt
¼ teaspoon of ground cinnamon
1 ¼ cups of ripe, well mashed bananas (about 3 large ones should do it)
1 ½ cups rice (or soy) milk + 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar (let stand for 5 minutes)
1 tablespoon canola oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon of Dutch processed cocoa

1. I don’t sift, but if you want, sift all the dry ingredients together in a bowl. Sifting gets the lumps out. I think lumps build integrity. I got at it with a fork and move on with my life.

2. In a separate bowl, mix all the wet ingredients until smooth. Tip: Throw the bananas in a food processor and used a hand mixer to whip it all together.

3. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and use a hand mixer (or elbow grease) to mix. Be careful not to overmix.

4. Prepare your frying pan by coating it with oil or spraying it with non-stick spray.

5. I am afraid you are on your own from this point on. Like I said, I am no master flipper so who am I to tell you how to go about pouring and flipping these babies?

6. Serve with a sliced banana and agave nectar.

Be sure to also check out Jackie’s related post: Whole Grain Pancakes with Strawberry Compote.

Leave a Reply

