Ode to Honeycrisp Apples

I love Honeycrisp apples and I feel the need to proclaim my love for them in the form of a blog post. I am sitting in my apartment. The heat has taken a few days off and my windows are open thereby reminding me how much I love this place. I have a Honeycrisp apple by my side and I need to share my love with the world.

Once upon a time there were a ton of kinds of apples. I don’t remember the exact number, but I learned this in The Botany of Desire, a documentary about the most successful crops in the world. Michael Pollan states out, “few plants have appealed to our inborn desire for sweetness more successfully than the apple.” Dude’s got a point. Back to my point, there used to be a lot more kinds of apples than there are now and a lot of them have gone into extinction with the advent of, you guessed it, factory farming. As a country, we mass-produce Gold Delicious, Red Delicious, Gala, Fuji, Macintosh, Granny Smith, Braeburn. (There’s more, I’m sure) Because of our mass production, other strains of apples just die out. That’s sad.

Have no fear! Some brilliant scientists in the Department of Horticulture Science at The University of Minnesota invented the Honeycrisp apple. It is a cross between a Macoun and a Honeygold. Let me tell you, their love child is amazing. It’s crispy, sweet, and juicy. It’s aromatic and beautiful. It causes an instant fiesta in your mouth. Words are failing me at this point. Love.

The Honeycrisp love children are only harvested from September 15th (ish) to October 10th in Minnesota. The ideal harvest is mid-September about a week before Macintosh and two weeks before Red Delicious apples.

My point is, if you see them at your farmer’s market or Whole Foods – don’t wait. You need to get them when you see them because shortly there after you’ll be stuck with Red Delicious apples and they’ll be gone for another year. Don’t do that to yourself. You deserve better.


Sources:
Linvilla Orchards
The Botany of Desire is available to watch instantly on Netflix.
Honeycrisp Apple c/o The University of Minnesota
Honeycrisp.org – A Honeycrisp apple fan site of sorts

Leave a Reply

