Spinach and Barley Tabouleh

This is my take on a classic Mediterranean cold salad that I enjoy thoroughly. It is usually made with cracked wheat (bulgar), but I didn’t have any. Also, this recipe usually calls for a lot of parsley. I didn’t have a lot of parsley, but I had a lot of mint and spinach so I made it work. I used barley and spinach in this version because it’s what I had and I am very happy with the way it turned out.

This is a great salad to make ahead of time and take to work for lunch. It’s also a great quick side dish to take to a potluck. For those who aren’t bothered by tomatoes, add diced bright tomatoes to this salad for more color and to follow the traditional recipe.

Ingredients
Juice of one lemon
¾ cup of good tasting EVOO
1 teaspoon of white pepper
1 teaspoon of sea salt
1 tablespoon minced garlic (or fresh)
¼ cup of dried parsley
I cup chopped spinach
1 cup chopped white onions (can sub for scallions)
½ cup fresh chopped mint
2 cups cooked barley

Prepare the barley according to the instructions on the package. I used Mother’s Natural Quick Cooking Barley so it took 15 minutes to cook the barley in two cups of salted water.

In a small bowl, combine the dried parsley, lemon juice, EVOO, white pepper, sea salt, and garlic. Whisk to combine. Refrigerate and let marinate while you prepare the other veggies.

Use a food processor or your insane knife skills to chop the onions, mint, and onions. Place chopped yummies in a medium sized bowl. When it’s done cooking, add the barley and the marinated spices. Toss to combine. Refrigerate and serve cold.

Leave a Reply

