Arrowhead Mills Puff Cereals

I am in love with Arrowhead Mills Puffed Kamut and Millet cereals. They are delightful. I found them one day when I was wandering through my local natural food store and I decided to take them home and give them a try. At $1.79 a bag, they were priced just right.

I have been reading a lot of books about food and nutrition in the last couple of weeks. One of them is by the woman who played Cher in Clueless, one is a set of rules by Michael Pollan, and the other is by a Black Vegan nutritionist. I plan on writing up formal reviews of the books once I finish them and can write something coherent, but they all stress the importance of whole grains. Both millet and kamut are whole grains that are ancient and super good for you. The puffy nature of the cereal makes it looks and sound like rice cereal.

I came up with this recipe a couple of weeks ago, but I have yet to take a picture of it mostly because I eat it before I remember to grab the camera. I love it and I am confident you’ll love it, too.

Ingredients

1 ½ cups puffed millet or kamut

½ cup Triumphant Granola

1 teaspoon organic, unsweetened, shredded coconut

½ teaspoon of turbinado sugar

1 banana, sliced

Swirl of agave nectar

Rice milk

In a bowl layer all ingredients starting with the puffed cereal. Toss all ingredients before adding the banana and agave nectar. Last add rice milk, or the milk of your choosing, to the cereal. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

