Fruity Green Juice

A friend of mine suggested that I do post on juicing. I bought a monster cucumber from Wolff’s Apple House and I said I was going to juice it. She said she had no idea one could juice a cucumber. You can juice pretty much anything. Most fruits and veggies have very high water content and can be easily made into juice. I will say that you will need a LOT of fruits and veggies to make a lot of juice.

This is after about ten small carrots.

Carrots make a lot of juice, but they also fill up the reservoir rather quickly. If you are juicing more than a pound of carrots, be prepared to stop to empty it before continuing with the other pound.

Cucumbers will need to be deseeded. I usually cut them in half and use a melon baller to get them out. The skins of fresh ginger and apples will need to be removed. I use a paring knife because I have an irrational fear of peelers. Mine is a monkey, so it’s little less scary.

Oranges will need to be peeled. I used a fresh lime for this one and I didn’t remove the skin. It was promptly rejected, hit the ceiling, and then landed in the sink. It will take lemons with the skins on, but not limes. Go figure.

For this juice you will need:
3 navel oranges
3 nectarines
1 granny smith apple
2 huge cucumbers, seeded
1” slice of ginger, peeled
1 small bunch of celery
1 bunch of fresh mint
1 handful of sprouts
½ lime

Place all the ingredients in a juicer. Use a blender to blend everything together as this will have to be completed in two batches. Makes 32 ounces of juice. Fresh juice keeps in the fridge for 24 hours.

I made another batch last night and added some beautiful organic Spirulina powder. You can add anything for an added boost to your juice like Spirulina and wheat grass.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sue says:

    Love the monkey peeler, man!!!

    1. cooktivism says:

      I really love it, too! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

