Fat Kid Friday – Triumphant Granola

I had a lovely no-bake cheesecake planned for today, but it failed. Last week, I had a Jewish apple cake planned, but that also failed. I believe my food allergies have me doomed to walk this earth without a dessert that won’t hurt my belly. Before yesterday’s no-bake dessert fail, I did manage to pull off this granola. It was my triumph of the evening hence why it is called Triumphant Granola.

I got most of my ingredients at my local natural foods market hence why so many things are organic and, well, granola. Feel free to substitute any of the ingredients with conventional ones to suit your tastes and your budget.

Ingredients
3 cups of BRM Gluten Free Rolled Oats
1 cup of organic jumbo flame raisins
½ cup organic fruit sweetened cranberries
½ cup organic unsweetened coconut
1 cup raw, unsalted sunflower seeds
½ cup raw pumpkin seeds
¼ cup flax seeds
½ tablespoon cinnamon

The Sticky and the Sweet
½ cup canola oil
¼ cup pure maple syrup
½ cup brown sugar
¼ cup of agave nectar
1/8 teaspoon all spice
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl combine the first seven ingredients. Mix thoroughly and set aside.

In a small saucepan combine the sticky and the sweet ingredients. Simmer the ingredients over medium high heat. Be sure to watch the pan! It will bubble and double in size and boil over if you aren’t careful. Whisk the mixture as it is boiling to keep it from getting out of hand. Do this for 3-5 minutes.

Immediately pour the hot, sticky, sweet mixture over the granola and mix it all together. Make sure it is all thoroughly coated.

Spread the granola evenly in a lightly greased 9 x 12 Pyrex pan. Bake for 10 minutes.

Allow to cool before eating. Enjoy!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nicole says:

    Your granola is beautiful! I think a sweet crunchy granola over Simply Delicious Coconut Ice Cream might count as a dessert!

Leave a Reply

