Mint Infused Black Plum Mango Sorbet

I am on a mint kick this week. Everything I have eaten since Sunday Brunch has had some sort of mint in it. Last night I made a rice dish…with mint. This morning I made myself a breakfast of coconut yogurt with a fresh nectarine, cinnamon, agave nectar and mint. I am going to be firing up the juicer later with some navel oranges, a host of veggies, and some more mint. It’s my herb of the week.

I made this sorbet with four ripe black plums I got from Wollf’s Apple House and a ripe mango I got from there as well. I’d never cut open a mango before and I am sure I didn’t do it as gracefully as I could have, but it was fun anyway. I made a simpl(er) sugar this time because I didn’t want to drown out the taste of the ripe fruit with sugar and because the last simple sugar I made nearly put me in a diabetic coma. It was extreme and not in a good way. You live and you learn. I infused the simpl(er) sugar with fresh mint because I love mint and adding it makes this more fancy pants.

Sorbet:
1/2 cup of fresh mango, chopped
1/2 cup of fresh black plums, skins removed and chopped

Simpl(er) Syrup:
1/2 cup Turbinado Sugar
2 1/2 cups of water

Simpl(er) Syrup

Combine sugar and water in a saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat; cook and stir until sugar or agave dissolves. This should take about 10 minutes. Transfer the mixture to an ice bath, stirring occasionally until mixture is chilled. Mixture will reduce to just under 2 cups of liquid after all is said and done. Keep the chilled in the fridge until you’re ready to use it.

Sorbet

Blend the fruit in a blender until smooth. Once fruit is blended, combine it witht he chilled simpl(er) sugar and pour into an airtight container and chill for at least 4 hours.

After the four hours have elapsed, whisk the mixture to combine and pour into your ice cream maker. Follow the instructions of your specific ice cream maker. The KitchenAid attachment I have says 7-12 minutes.

Immediately transfer the sorbet into an airtight container and freeze for at least 2 hours before serving.

Leave a Reply

