Fat Kid Friday: Suspended

I live in this beautiful old building with a back deck. I have lots of windows that let in lots of light. The town I live in is adorable. It’s America’s First Fair Trade Town. We have shops like Earth & State, Local Home + Gifts, and Seven Stones Gallery. Seven Stones also has a very popular coffee shop in my building. There’s a funky consignment shop on the corner, Deal’s General Store, and more restaurants than you can stomach. We have a food co-op down the street. We even have a Planned Parenthood. Seriously, this place is amazing. It is the perfect place to live and create and be among people who love life. This has been the perfect place to nurture this blog. Except, I have not cooked in my kitchen since late May.

Shocking, I know, but it’s true. The problem is that my kitchen is so bloody hot. I have had to block off the kitchen because I can’t afford to let all of the hot hair seep out into the rest of the apartment. When I do go in there for water or to microwave something, I instantly break out into a sweat. It’s been difficult to not be able to cook in my beloved kitchen especially since I just got home. The other day, I went and bought an oven thermometer. I stuck it in my oven and here’s what it reads:

That little red line reads 49 degrees celsius, which is about 120 degrees Fahrenheit. I essentially have a space heater in my kitchen that runs 24/7 . That would explain why it’s so hot in there and why I have a hard time not burning my baked goods.

I called in the issue and hopefully my landlords will come out and help me with this. The oven is old, and though I do love old things, I do not love things that make it impossible for me to cook in my kitchen. I love cooking too much to not be able to do it.

Fat Kid Fridays and any cooked meals are suspended until further notice. I will be making a lot of sorbet until this matter is resolved. Thanks for sticking with me, kids.

UPDATE: I called the energy company and my landlords. Both sent people out. Both confirmed that it is normal because i have three pilot lights running all the time. The one guy had a laser pointer temperature thing and was able to tell my my kitchen is 98 degrees. Fat Kid Fridays are officially back on. I will just cook and bake and be hot and bothered…but not in a good way. It’s good to be back.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sue says:

    Hi there Nina–it’s JCB’s mom -in-law—–I had the same problem with my antiquated oven. Older ovens have a standing pilot light that works in two stages. When the oven is off, it should be in the low flame stage. When turned on, the flame grows larger (you can check this all out by removing broiler pan and looking at pilot light—look at it in off position and then oven on–you should see flame enlarge). Anyway, something was wrong with mine in that the pilot light did not return all the way down th the smaller level when in the standing, or off stage. Therefore, my oven was always warm, even when turned off. The slumlord, er, landlady decided it was too expensive to fix and since it was in less than desirable shape anyway, replaced it. Definitely have it looked at, as I am told it can be a fire hazard, especially if you store cookie trays or whatnot in there.

    1. cooktivism says:

      Thanks, Sue! I called my landlords on Thursday and I still have not heard from them. I am sure this is the case with my oven. They have been really great with replacing all of the other inefficient things in my unit. I am sure this is no exception. I’ll be back to baking and sauteeing in no time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

