Banana Mango Berry Smoothie

I have been in Boston for almost 6 weeks and I am ready to go home. Don’t get me wrong. I love this city, but it is very difficult for me to not be able to prepare my own meals. It is beginning to hurt my feelings.

I am working for a summer dance program here in the city and part of my pay includes room and board at BU. I talked about this in a previous post. It’s not horrible and it certainly could be worse, but for someone with allergies as numerous as mine, there are some things the dining hall staff doesn’t get and won’t get because, well, they don’t have to. I will be gone in a week and they will go back to business as usual.

That being said, I had enough hindsight to bring my blender with me. I figured if I couldn’t get them to make foods I could eat then I would just blend fresh fruit all summer. Boy, was I right. I have been blending up a storm.

Today’s blended drink is full of frozen fruits I bought at Trader Joe’s in Coolidge Corner and fresh berries I bought at Haymarket. Haymarket is a great place to get cheap produce from wholesalers who didn’t sell their goods to stores and need to get rid of it. They are only open on Friday and Saturday, but they are there all day and you can get tons of produce for next to nothing. This time around I got 4 pints of blackberries and 2 pints of red raspberries for $4. Yes, $4. Reminds me of farmers markets at home. I miss home.

Banana Mango Berry Smoothie with Hemp Protein Powder

Ingredients

¼ cup of blackberries

½ cup of red raspberries

2 ripe bananas

1 ½ cups Rice drink

2 of TJ’s sweet mango slices

4 teaspoons of TJ’s Hemp Protein Powder

Place all ingredients in the blender and blend until smooth. Serves 2 people.

Leave a Reply

