Pineapple Mango Sorbet

I bought myself this fancy pants attachment for my KitchenAid mixer that makes ice cream. I justified this purchase because of all the money I save by being allergic to everything. (Note the snark) Needless to say, you’ll need some sort of ice cream maker for this recipe.

You will also need to make a simple syrup. You can buy simple syrup or make it yourself. I made one from turbinado sugar and agave nectar. It came out way too sweet. I’d recommend just sticking with either the turbinado sugar or the agave, but not both unless you want to go into a diabetic coma.

Sorbet:
1 cup of frozen mangoes, chopped
1 cup of frozen pineapple, chopped
You can also use fresh fruit, but this will increase the chilling time.

Ingredients for the Simple Syrup:
1 cup Turbinado Sugar or Agave nectar
2 cups of water water

Simple Syrup

Combine sugar and water in a saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat; cook and stir until sugar or agave dissolves. This should take about 10 minutes. Transfer the mixture to an ice bath, stirring occasionally until mixture is chilled. (I used my stainless steel bowls for this. The biggest one had the water and ice cubes, the smallest one held the simple syrup.) Keep the chilled SS in the fridge until you’re ready to use it.

Sorbet

Blend the fruit in a blender or a food processor until smooth. (I used my blender and I used a bit of warm water to help soften the frozen fruit and to help my blender do its job.) Pour blended liquid into an airtight container and chill for at least 4 hours. (8 if the fruit was not frozen.)

After the four or eight hours has elapsed, whisk 1 ¼ cups of the simple syrup with the fruit mixture and pour into your ice cream maker. Follow the instructions of your specific ice cream maker. The KitchenAid attachment I have says 7-12 minutes. It won’t take nearly as long as ice cream (usually 20-25 minutes).

Immediately transfer the sorbet into an airtight container and freeze for at least 2 hours before serving.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Tes says:

    It sounds really refreshing. I have to try this. Thanks for sharing.

    1. cooktivism says:

      TES! I’m so glad you found this blog! I just looked at yours. Your baby is beautiful and you prepare a lot of dishes I’m not allergic to! I will be making plenty of dishes from your blog. Thank you for commenting and sharing YOUR recipes. 🙂 -Nina

  2. Kausambi says:

    I love a good sorbet anyday! Mango is like my fav thing in the whole world (http://coloredgrains.wordpress.com/2010/06/18/mangoes/) Sounds like pineapple will add just the right twist.. lemme try 🙂

Leave a Reply

