NF Banana Nut Bread

This weekend I decided I was going to figure out this whole baked goods things. I was successful and in the process, I invented a new term: Nina Friendly. I was going to try to sum up my allergies with an acronym, but it would have been insanely long and obnoxious. I decided to simplify it. I updated the glossary and now anything marked “NF” means it is free of soy, yeast, corn, milk, eggs, or potatoes. I have been told I’m not allergic to wheat, but a lot of my recipes will still be gluten free. Be sure to check. I am running low on gluten free flours and they are rather expensive to replace.

Please feel free to sub out the flours for the flour of your choosing. I used the ones I did because that’s what I have. This bread is moist, hearty, and full of fiber thanks to the psyllium husks. I am going to count this as a win.

Ingredients:
4 very ripe bananas mashed
1 tbspn psyllium husks + 2 tbspns water (set aside. do not mix! Egg replacer)
1 ripe avocado (put through a food processor and pulse until it’s smooth. Butter replacer)
¼ cup of cooking oil (I used grapeseed. Anything but EVOO will do)
1 cup of BRM brown rice flour
½ cup BRM Quinoa flour
1 cup turbinado sugar (raw cane sugar)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ cup of chopped walnuts

1. Preheat over to 350 degrees. Combine the psyllium husks and water in a bowl. Do not mix. Just let it sit there. Mixing it will make it a solid mass. This is no bueno for baking. Trust me. Take this time to puree the avocado as well. In a medium bowl, mix together the bananas, psyllium husk mixture, oil, and avocado. It’s going to turn green. Don’t panic.

2. In a larger mixing bowl, sift flour, salt, baking soda together. Then add the sugar.

3. Mix the wet and the dry ingredients together until they form a batter. It will be slightly green and maybe a little lumpy from the avocado or psyllium husks. Fold in the nuts last.

4. Pour batter into a 9×5 loaf pan and bake for 55 minutes. You’ll know it’s done when a sharp knife through the middle comes out clean.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Louise (aka @batpoet) says:

    What a wonderful idea to replace the butter with avocado! The recipe sounds healthy and filling. It could be a delicious snack with tea or milk, or possibly warmed for breakfast.

    1. cooktivism says:

      Louise, the bread is very hearty. I ate too much of it the first night and I got a belly ache! It would be a great breakfast treat. I had my slices with tea and it was delightful! 🙂 Thanks for reading. -Nina

Leave a Reply

