Gluten Free Vegan Mac & Cheese

I have scoured the internet for a recipe for mac and cheese that didn’t involve scores of expensive, exotic, hard-to-find ingredients. Shortly after I began my search, I quit my search. All seemed hopeless until I decided to try my hand at it. All it took was combining the recipe I had listed for Vegan cheese sauce and adding pasta then baking. I was, in fact, trying entirely too hard. I used quinoa pasta for this recipe. It’s a fairly good alternative to Tinkyada brown rice pasta. Recipe serves two or one very hungry Cooktivist. Enjoy.

1 box of Quinoa Harvest elbow pasta
¼ cup of nutritional yeast
¼ cup BRM brown rice flour
1 tsp of salt
1 cup of water
¼ cup of margarine
1/8 teaspoon of garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon of turmeric to give it the cheesy color

1. Prepare pasta according to the directions on the box. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a small sauce pan, combine the nutritional yeast, flour, salt, water, and spices. Heat the mixture over medium high heat. When it begins to bubble, remove from heat and add the margarine. Mix well and remove from heat.

3. Drain the pasta. Add the drained pasta to the cheesy sauce and mix to coat.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nicole says:

    This is a delicious healthy Mac & (no) Cheese recipe. The first time I prepared this dish I used the Tinkyada brown rice pasta . It was creamy and very easy to prepare. I served it at a side dish , however with a high protein pasta it’s hearty enough to be a main entree.

Leave a Reply

