Banana Pecan Waffles

I was listening to Jack Johnson’s song the other day and I thought to myself, “Self, why not me?” I was, of course, referring to the someone-making-me-pancakes-after-waking-up-slowly-without-an-alarm-clock-bit.  It’s a sweet song and my food allergy having behind still wants and deserves banana pancakes / waffles.

I got out of bed and I made these pancakes. Then I made the waffles. This recipe calls for a waffle maker. I am also happy to report that this recipe is Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Casein-Free, and Vegan.  I also opted to use Guar gum free Goya brand Coconut Milk.  Neither the waffles nor the pancakes are overly sweet, which I love about them.  They are deeply satisfying and I am so glad I didn’t wait around for someone to make them for me.

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups of BRM Gluten-Free Pancake Mix

¼ potato starch for waffles (omit this ingredient for pancakes)

2 cups (1 can) Goya brand Coconut milk + 1 teaspoon of Apple Cider Vinegar

2-3 really ripe, mashed bananas

1 tablespoon of canola oil

½ tablespoon of ground cinnamon

¼ cup of chopped pecans

Oil or spray (not EVOO) for the waffle iron

1. In a bowl, combine the coconut milk and the apple cider vinegar and allow it to curdle for at least 5 minutes. (This is not as gross as you think.)

2. In a medium bowl, mash the bananas and add the coconut milk and oil and mix well. Combine the dry ingredients in a larger bowl. Use a fork to “sift” the flours. (Gluten free flours don’t bind together as well as glutinous flours so I have found that traditional sifting is not necessary.)

3. Add the banana coconut mash to the dry ingredients and mix until combined. Fold in the pecans.

4. Lubricate whichever tool you choose to make either the pancakes or the waffles. For pancakes, turn the heat to medium high. You want to add your pancake batter to a hot pan. Use an ice cream scoop to dish out the batter. When the underside of the pancake is done, the top will show a bunch of burst bubbles. This takes about two minutes. Flip and cook on the opposite side. Waffle makers vary, so be sure to follow the directions on that chompie to make your banana pecan waffles.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nicole says:

    I normally buy Vans frozen Gluten Free Waffles which my mother says taste like paper. LOL
    These waffles are the best treat a GF gal has ever had.

Leave a Reply

