Gluten Free Cornbread

Don’t get excited. I didn’t bake cornbread. I am using this post as a product review for cornbread. I am sorry I have not posted in a while. I have been house sitting the world’s most annoying dog who is sitting 5 feet from my face making the strangest noises. I don’t know what his problem is so I am just going to ignore him. JCB is also in the middle of a transition and it has left both of us turned upside down. She, however, does not have an annoying dog 5 feet from her face.

I have been cooking this whole time, but I am out-of-town and I stupidly left my camera cord in my apartment. I am going to retrieve it tomorrow from my sweltering apartment (no central air and no window units and it’s going to be in the 90s tomorrow) and then I will commence with the food blogging goodness. On to the review.

Gluten free baking is hard. Don’t let other bloggers fool you into thinking it’s a walk in the park because it’s not. In order to bake without gluten, you need a complex blend of gluten-free flours and things like xanthan gum. I do have some fancy gluten-free flours, but they didn’t get packed with me on this journey away from home.

My mom made Hoppin’ John Black Eyed Peas. She made it with the ham bone from Easter and I made the corn bread. I wasn’t about to try to make it from scratch because not only is gluten-free baking hard, but I am also allergic to cornmeal. (Aside: A nutritionist once told me that it is not uncommon for gluten intolerant folks to also develop an intolerance for corn. Corn is in a LOT of stuff. I’d love to have beans with polenta, but no such luck for this GF girl. I digress.)

The Gluten Free Pantry Yankee Cornbread mix is delightful. It’s diabetic friendly, wheat and gluten-free and very nice all around. We bought it at Whole Foods, but it is available for purchase in bulk.  The recipe calls for a great deal of animal products (eggs, butter, and butter milk), but I subbed in soy milk and apple sauce where it was needed. I think it is necessary to add applesauce or yogurt to make sure they don’t turn out dry.  Dryness is often a byproduct of gluten free baking.

If you are like me and can’t seem to digest cornmeal, I would highly recommend Betty Crocker’s Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix. Omit the vanilla extract, bake it in a muffin tin and it tastes just like cornbread. It’s WAY too dry to ever be consumed as a cake, but it works perfectly as a cornbread alternative with beans or with high tea at 4P.

In other news, this dog is making me want to use ALL of my curse words for the day.

Leave a Reply

