Turbinado Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

In the last week I have only managed to churn out food that was beige both literally and figuratively. I have been having some belly problems that I recently got checked out. I need more medical tests, but I am going to have to figure out the whole insurance thing before I can even think about blood work. Anyway, I feel better now and I decided I deserved a cookie for my efforts.

I have been craving oatmeal raisin cookies ever since JCB made those amazing Funky Monkey cookies. Well, I am sure they were amazing judging by the faces of the people who bought them at Fun-A-Day Philly. Like I said in a previous post, I don’t do a whole lot of baking, but this craving needed to be satisfied. I’m so glad I caved.

I used turbinado sugar for this recipe because it rocks so steady. It’s sweet, raw, and it has a hint of a honey taste. I used a mixture of gluten-free flours for this recipe that I invented. If you don’t have the flours listed, Bob’s Red Mill (BRM) makes a wonderful Gluten-Free All Purpose Baking mix. I used grape seed oil for the fat because it was cheaper because it is lower in saturated fat than canola oil. I also used So Delicious Original Coconut Milk. These cookies are hearty and not overly sweet. I really, really like how these babies turned out.
Ingredients
1/3 cup So Delicious Original Coconut Milk
2 tablespoons ground flax seed
2/3 cup Turbinado natural sugar
1/3 cup grape seed oil
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
¼ cup of BRM gluten-free all-purpose baking mix
¼ cup of BRM white sorghum flour
¼ cup of BRM Quinoa flour
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
¼ teaspoon nutmeg
¼ teaspoon salt
1½ cups of BRM gluten-free rolled oats
½ cup of raisins

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix all wet ingredients in a large bowl in the order they appear on the list. Be sure to mix all ingredients well.

2. Add the wet ingredients and mix to combine. This mixture is pretty thick and should be sepia in color.

3. Fold in the raisins and oats. Use a spoon and some elbow grease to combine.

4. Use a tablespoon and drop cookies on your cookie sheet. You can mash them down a bit, but they won’t do much spreading. Bake for 10-12 minutes for soft cookies. Bake for 12-14 minutes for crisper cookies.

Special Thanks to JCB’s amazing mother in law for the aprons. 🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Gail says:

    These look scrumptious, Nina! I love So Delicious coconut milk, and I cannot wait to try this recipe! Thank you for sharing it! I hope you continue feeling better.

    1. cooktivism says:

      Thanks, Gail. These cookies are very easy on the belly. I love them! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Rebecca says:

    Thanks – my 15 month old can actually have everything in this recipe – time to make some cookies!

Leave a Reply

