Angel Hair Pasta with Spinach and Tofu

Last night I had a craving for pasta. I have had this box of De Boles Gluten-Free Angel hair pasta staring at me for weeks now. (Literally staring at me; I am eye-level with my kitchen cabinet.) I decided to cook it last night and add some spinach. Then I realized I needed protein so I added tofu. Long story short (too late, I know) this dish was born. It was so good I made it for lunch again today.

Ingredients
Box of Angel Hair pasta
Bag of spinach
6 cloves of garlic, crushed and finely chopped
1 package of extra firm tofu, rinsed, pressed, and cut into thin squares
3 tablespoons of butter-like spread (I use Earth Balance)
Pinch of thyme or basil
Juice of ½ of a lemon
Sea Salt
EVOO

1. Prepare the pasta per the directions on the box. When it’s ready, strain and rinse with cold water. Set aside.

2. In a deep pan (I used my stir fry pan) place one tablespoon of EVOO in the bottom. When the oil is hot, add three cloves of garlic. (I chop all the garlic and put it in a prep bowl. I eyeball it and toss in half of them.)  Allow the garlic to cook for about 3 minutes until it is soft. Add the spinach and sea salt to taste. Spinach doesn’t take long to cook and reduces drastically once the water is out of it. When it is wilted, but still bright green, remove it from the pan and set aside.

3. Using the same pan, drizzle the bottom with teaspoon of EVOO and add the three tablespoons of butter-like spread. When that combo gets hot, it will start to bubble. Add the rest of the garlic and allow it to dance around the pot for about 3 minutes. Then add the tofu, the lemon juice, spices, and sea salt (to taste). Allow that to cook for about 5 minutes on each side.

4. When tofu is browned on each side, add the pasta and fold it into the buttery tofu mixture. Finally, add the spinach and fold that in and make sure it is coated in the buttery tofu pasta love.

Leave a Reply

