Hashbrowns with Caramelized Onions

My mom used to make these for me when I was little. Okay, she made them for me when I was living with her last year. Anyway, she taught me how to make them and I wanted to share the recipe with you incase you’ve never seen them made this way before.

I added some apple cider vinegar to it because I wanted to know what it tasted like and because I got an email with a huge picture of a certain unnamed talk show host whom I can’t stand that said Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar lowers the glycemic index of foods. I searched, but I can’t find the backup for this. Maybe you saw the episode. It was one with her favorite non-suit wearing doctor made famous by her. Whatever. They were delightful and I am glad I added the apple cider vinegar.

For the record: I knew about Bragg’s before it was “discovered” up by the talk show host whom I cannot stand. Thank you.

Ingredients
4 small Yukon gold potatoes thinly sliced, skins on
Sea Salt
¼ cup of Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar
1 cup of caramelized onions

1. Caramelize the onions first and set aside. I made Green Beans with Caramelized Shallots first and saved half the goodness for the hash browns. I used the same pan in an effort to capitalize on the residual goodness.

2. Lightly oil or spray a skillet. Over medium high heat, place the spuds face down in a layer. If you can’t fit them all face down, layer them on the sides. Now is when you should salt them.

3. When they start to sizzle, pour in the apple cider vinegar and cover. Covering them will help cook them faster. Cook them on one side for 15 minutes.

4. Using kitchen tongs, turn them over after 15 minutes and cook for an additional 10 minutes on the other side. If the ones in the middle are crispy, move them to the outside and allow the ones on the edges to get in the middle. Ya know, like penguins do when it’s cold and they have to keep their babies warm. What? I saw it in a documentary.

5. After ten minutes have elapsed, add the onions and cook for an additional 3 minutes to get all of the flavors to seep in.

Serve with or without ketchup. This is a great side dish to scrambled tofu. Enjoy, love muffins.

Leave a Reply

