Gratitude

I do these nightly meditations where give thanks to the Universe and ask for help when I need help dealing with something that is bigger than me. I came home from a wonderful weekend feeling very fortunate and, of course, it involved food.

This weekend was JCB’s birthday. She made a delicious soy ice cream cake and was generous enough to share the recipe with us yesterday. Besides having cake, we all gathered together in her name and sat down for a great meal at a local Italian restaurant. We sat there for hours enjoying great food and sharing stories from our diverse life experiences.

The table was full of JCB’s nearest and dearest. They came from afar and some battled a foot of snow to come and partake in this meal to celebrate her golden year of life. I was fortunate enough to be at the table. JCB is one of my dearest friends and her birthday dinner made me realize exactly how fortunate I am. Really, how fortunate we all are.

At that table sat some of the people I also treasure the most. Though I don’t share blood relations with any of them, I consider them family. They are kind. They are generous. They have lively spirits. They have the best stories and the deepest wisdom. Best of all, they have some of the coolest North Jersey accents I have ever heard. (Note: This is not a joke.)

When I left her house, I went to visit my own mother. She was surprised and very happy to see me. We spent all day searching for treasures and enjoying each others company. She made me breakfast, lunch, and dinner and it was a welcome change from cooking all of my own meals at home.

The point I am trying to make is that food has the power to bring us all together and make us realize exactly how fortunate we all are. Sometimes we gather at these tables in celebration. Sometimes we gather in mourning. The point is – we gather. In the United States of America, we are fortunate enough to have electricity and clean, running water. We have access to an abundance of food; some of it whole and a lot of it processed. We all have the ability to sit down and eat with our family members whether they are given to us at birth or whether we chosen them along the way. We are very fortunate, indeed.

I am grateful for those I have chosen to surround myself with. They are incredible people with whom I have shared numerous meals.

I take the time every night to say thank you for them and for the things that I have and I think we could all benefit from this from time to time. Call it prayer. Call it mediation. Call it whatever you like. Address it to God, Allah, Buddha, or Alanis Moorisette. It doesn’t matter to whom you give thanks, it’s that you do. We have a lot to be grateful for. When’s the last time you took the time to say thank you To Whom It May Concern?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Toni says:

    Love you too, Nina…Momma C

Leave a Reply

