Blood Orange Marinade

I am on a blood orange kick. My local Trader Joe’s is currently selling bags of this decadent fruit and I could not resist. They hail from Southern California, so they aren’t local to my area. Some of our readers may be from So Cal where it is sustainable to procure them and this recipe would very nice for them.

I decided on a whim that I wanted to marinade some tofu and have blood oranges and this post was born. I don’t buy orange juice, so I juiced some of the blood oranges. If you don’t have a juicer, put a peeled blood orange in a plastic baggie and

Juicing blood oranges is a bloody mess

squeeze the crap out of it. Then cut a small hole in the corner and drain it into a measuring cup. Fill the rest of the cup with orange juice to make it to one cup. Using orange juice will change the taste and the balance of sweet and tart, so you may need to play around with it a bit.

Ingredients
Juice of two blood oranges
Juice of ½ lemon
3 tablespoons of honey
1/8 cup of raw cane sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
dash of nutmeg

Whisk all ingredients together in a small bowl. Be sure to mix well. The honey may be a little stubborn. Add more salt and sugar to taste. The mixture should yield a nice balance of tart and sweet.

I then poured the marinade over tofu I cut into blocks. Marinade can be used on other animal based proteins as well.

I used the tofu to add more protein to my salad. I also made a salad dressing out of the excess marinade. Stay tuned for the recipe for the homemade salad dressing.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Olivia says:

    That looks as if it tastes wonderful. Love the color as well. I think it would make a lovely martini.

Leave a Reply

