Garlic Fries with Black Bean Dipping Sauce

I admit it. I have a produce Love Jones. I miss fresh, locally grown produce from Linvilla Orchards and Wolff’s Apple House. I miss rich vibrant colors emitting from the produce section at Selene Co-Op. Most of all, I miss driving around with my windows down, the music up, and the sun streaming in warming my skin. We were good together, Spring and I.

But I digress. After I semi got over my Love Jones, I realized I had a bunch of Yukon Gold potatoes that needed love, too. I whipped up some garlic fries and got inspired to make dipping sauce out of my leftover black beans. The black bean sauce should literally be left for dead last. I made it while the potatoes were cooking on my plate. I only made it because I didn’t have any ketchup and my neighbor wasn’t home for me to ask him for some. This recipe is simple and delicious and would compliment the SnOMG black bean burgers quite nicely.

Garlic Fries with Black Bean Dipping Sauce

Ingredients
5 small Yukon gold potatoes cut into slices with the skin on
3 cloves of garlic roughly chopped
3 tablespoons of EVOO
Sea Salt
Garlic powder

Preheat the over to 400 degrees. Place sliced potatoes in a large bowl. In a small saucepan, place the EVOO and the garlic into a saucepan. Allow the garlic to simmer in the pot to infuse the oil with the garlic. When the garlic starts to turn brown, about four minutes later, pour olive oil garlic mixture over your potatoes. Add sea salt and garlic powder and toss well. Pour potatoes in a greased or parchment lined 9 x 13 pan or a cookie sheet. Cook for 45-55 minutes. Note: If you aren’t using parchment paper, they will stick to a cookie sheet or a 9 x 13 pan. Have a pair of metal tongs on hand to move them around about half way through the baking process. Chances are the potatoes won’t be whole slices when cooking is done. They will still be delicious!

Black Bean Dipping Sauce
1 cup of black beans mashed into a paste
2 tablespoons of water
1 tablespoon of nutritional yeast
1/2 teaspoon of salt

Start by mashing the black beans into a paste in a microwave safe bowl. Add the water, nutritional yeast, and salt and mix well. Microwave on high for 90 seconds to heat thoroughly.  Remove from microwave and mix to distribute the heat and serve with fries.

Leave a Reply

