Accidental Detox

I have been a long time fan of Dr. Gillian McKeith. The first time I laid eyes on this tiny woman was on her BCC show You Are What You Eat. In the show, Dr. Gillian follows around Britain’s worst eaters and challenges them to change their evil cheese soaked, butter slathering, carb eating ways. Some of the folks on the show are just gross. She has them do a week worth of food journaling, gets all the crap they ate, and then spreads it out on a table. It’s quite gross and enthralling at the same time.

Quite simply put, Dr. Gillian is amazing. If Oprah hired her instead of that punk Bob Green, she wouldn’t be fat. Period.

I am not the world’s worst eater, but I would like to get rid of the small anorexic woman I have been carrying around for the last six years. In an effort to eradicate her (I call her Bertha) from my life, I have decided to follow Dr. Gillian’s plan. Apparently starting today. I got up this morning and started subconsciously following the detox plan. It didn’t hit me, so to speak, until I’d completed the apple / pear steamed juiced nonsense. There is stuff coming out of me that I haven’t seen in years. TMI? I don’t care.

Here’s a fun video featuring my juicer. It’s very silly and I like it a lot. Note: No matter how many times I say “blender” this is actually a juicer. I know the difference. My current blender is about to be pitched because it will never be as awesome as this JUICER.

There is a point in the detox that has you enjoy a raw salad. I have been working on this recipe for a while. Here it is in it’s raw version. Normally I add EVOO to loosen up the hummus and to add another layer of flavor to the salad, but Dr. Gillian said I can’t use any cooking oil. Any of the super grains can be added to make this even more yummy (and decidedly less raw).

Ingredients:

Bag salad (dark green leafy blend preferred)

1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes cut lengthwise then in half

1/2 cup baby bella mushrooms sliced

handful of sprouts (any kind)

2 tablespoons of vegan hummus

Generous squirt of Bragg’s Liquid Amino Acid

In a large bowl, combine the bag of salad, the sun-dried tomatoes, mushrooms, and sprouts. Top with hummus and Bragg’s. Mix well and use tongs to serve.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lauren says:

    food journaling = super effective way to improve eating habits!!! A++

Leave a Reply

