Less Power, More Sugar, but it’s All Good Porridge

I am in need of comfort this week because I am having some ickdified dental issues. Long story short, I can’t eat anything solid. Toothaches are kryptonite for a fat kid. I am suffering, but breakfast recipes like this make life without chewing a bit more bearable.

That’s right, I said porridge. This recipe is the offspring creation from Father Bryant Terry (Vegan Soul Kitchen) and Mother umm 101 Cookbooks.  I made both recipes and I liked elements of both. Mr. Terry’s recipe calls for ingredients that are hard to find or just icky. (I am afraid of dried fruit.  Don’t ask.  It’s completely irrational.) The 101 Cookbooks recipe was, um, bland. So I added a creamy twist (also inspired by Mr. Terry) and this is what I came up with.

Less Power, More Sugar, but it’s All Good Porridge

Porridge is cool again.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of Amaranth**

1/2 cup of Quinoa** (rinsed and drained)

1 can of coconut milk (about 2 cups)

1/2 cup of water

1 cinnamon stick

Pinch of sea salt

2 cups of fresh-cut bananas

1/4 cup of finely chopped walnuts (or halves and pieces if you can chew)

3 teaspoons of Agave  nectar (or honey)

In a medium pot, bring coconut milk, water, amaranth, quinoa, salt, and cinnamon stick to a boil. (Yes, just toss in the whole stick.) When it boils, reduce heat, cover and simmer for 20-25 minutes. You’ll know it’s done when all of the liquid is absorbed. When all (or mostly all) liquid has been absorbed, add fruit, nuts, and agave nectar. Mix to combine. Turn off heat and let stand for about 3 minutes.  Serves 2 – 4 people.

SUPER GRAINS!

*** A note on grains: I adore both Quinoa (keen-wa) and Amaranth (pronunciation is up to you, kid). They are a complete protein and they have more calcium than milk and have loads of other great things going on for them. I’ll be writing more about them later, but one thing to mention is that it takes a bit to get used to cooking them.  Karina of Karina’s Kitchen recommends the easiest way to cook quinoa is with a rice cooker. She’s right, but the rice cooker I own is a 16 cup monster and it  over cooks my grains every time. (This is my fault, not the rice cooker’s.) This recipe is pretty simple. If you end up having too much liquid in the pan, add more fruit or nuts or just simply remember it’s PORRIDGE. It’s delicious even if it is unsightly.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Honor says:

    I’m never used quinoa in a sweet dish. I find that the grain has a pretty persistent bitter taste, no matter how many other ingredients are mixed in with it. Does that come through at all in this recipe? I’m definitely willing to try it, but i’m just a little concerned.

    1. cooktivism says:

      Really? All of the quinoa I have ever cooked comes out pretty tasteless. Could it be the brand you are using? This dish is nothing short of delicious. The amaranth may balance out the quinoa. The only thing you taste in this dish is the coconut milk and bananas. The grains take on the taste of the milk. I enjoy it immensely. I’m sorry quinoa has been anything less than delightful for you!

    2. It might taste bitter if you don’t rinse it (and kind of scrub it with your hands while rinsing) pretty well. It has some kind of soapy substance on its hull that tastes bitter.

  2. Mom says:

    My experience with quinoa has only been in savory dishes. I’ve never had a bitter taste when eating this grain. I find it nutty , filling, and great when mixed into a salad. I’m looking forward to trying this “porridge”

Leave a Reply

