Gluten Free Pesto Chicken Pizza

I love pizza and I miss it in my gluten-free life. Enter the amazingness that is Bob’s Red Mill. Bob’s Red Mill makes a host of delicious gluten-free items that are affordable and pretty magical. The Gluten Free Pizza Crust Mix is no exception.

Prepping for Pizza

I have toyed around with this recipe quite a lot, but I have only made it gluten-free and vegan until this now. I was at home this weekend and my mom requested pizza. She had everything the non-vegan recipe called for and so I went with it.

I love this pizza mix because it is so versatile. You can also make this recipe with homemade tomato sauce or just sprinkle some EVOO on the crust and then layer on your favorite toppings.  I used pesto because it adds richness to the pizza crust and because it’s one of my favorite spreads.  I brought some pesto home this weekend to share and I figured I’d use it on the pizza because she’s been using store-bought tomato sauce since I moved out. :/

The recipe for the pesto can be found on the Post Punk Kitchen’s blog. I used the classic pesto recipe from “Vegan with a Vengeance.” This one is the same thing, just omit the mint.

Ingredients:

1 package of Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pizza Crust Mix

1/2 cup of pesto

4 oz of prepared chicken breasts (like Perdue short cuts)

5 white or baby bella sliced mushrooms

Pesto!

Prepare Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pizza Crust according to package instructions. When it comes time to add your favorite toppings, start by slathering a layer of the pesto on the pizza crust. Next, add the mushrooms. Top with chicken pieces and bake on a cookie sheet for 15-18 minutes.

To make this recipe vegan, simply omit the eggs in the pie crust and replace them with an alternative such as an egg replacer or flax eggs. You would also need to skip the chicken bits to make this vegan.

Feel free to add more than mushrooms. Layer your favorite toppings on and enjoy. This pizza crust is an amazing thing!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mom says:

    This pizza is slamming , one of the most difficult foods to give up in a GF lifestyle is PIZZA. This pizza crust is more than a substitute it’s like the real thing. Thanks to my daughter’s quest for new recipes and culinary skills Friday Pizza night is back on the menu.

Leave a Reply

